The fourth Hermann Weyl Prize in Mathematical Physics is awarded to M.M. Sheikh-Jabbari of IPM for his significant contributions to understanding physics through the symmetries.

The ceremony for awarding the 2008 Weyl Prize will be held at the XXVII International Colloquium on Group Theoretical Methods in Physics (Group-27), Yerevan, Armenia August 13-19, 2008. The meeting is organized by the International Center for Advanced Studies and Physics Department of the Yerevan State University, in collaboration with the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research (Dubna, Russia). (For more info. See: http://theor.jinr.ru/~group27/2page0.html).

More on the Herman Weyl Prize

The Hermann Weyl Prize, which is named after renown German Mathematical Physicist Hermann Klaus Hugo Weyl (1885-1955), is awarded by the Standing Committee of the International Colloquia for Group-Theoretical Methods in Physics. The prize is awarded every two years. The ceremony for the presentation of the prize is held at the International Colloquium on Group-Theoretical Methods in Physics. (The 2008 meeting will be in Yerevan Armenia.) The Chairperson of the Standing Committee organizes the ceremony in collaboration with the organizers of the conference.

The selection of the prize recipient(s) is done among the candidates nominated to the Standing Committee. As a rule awardees should be less than 35 years of age. In the event that no candidate was felt worthy of the prize, the Selection Committee may recommend that the prize be rolled over to the next occasion. More detail on the bylaws of the Weyl Prize may be found at:

http://www.ccr.jussieu.fr/group24/HermanWeyl.html

The purpose of the prize is to provide recognition for young scientists who have performed original work of significant scientific quality in the area of the understanding of physics through symmetries. Their contributions should be in one or more of the following fields: group theory; development of new mathematical tools for the description of physical phenomena and their applications to problems in the physical sciences; interpretation of experimental results; formulation of general laws based on symmetries.

The Hermann Weyl prize consists of a certificate citing the accomplishments of the recipient, a monetary prize of US 500\$ and a contribution to assist the prizewinner to attend the International Colloquium on Group-Theoretical Methods in Physics at which the prize is to be presented.

The previous recipients of the Hermann Weyl Prize are Edward Frenkel of UC Berekley (2002), Nikita A. Nekrasov of IHES, France (2004), and Bojko Bakalov of North Carolina State University (2006).