The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Physics for 2015 to Takaaki Kajita (Super-Kamiokande Collaboration, University of Tokyo, Japan) and to Arthur B. McDonald (Sudbury Neutrino Observatory Collaboration, Canada) “for their key contributions to the experiments which demonstrated that neutrinos change identities. This metamorphosis requires that neutrinos have mass. The discovery has changed our understanding of the innermost workings of matter and can prove crucial to our view of the universe."

In 1998 Takaaki Kajita presented to the world the discovery that neutrinos produced in the atmosphere switch between two flavors on their way to Earth. Arthur McDonald subsequently led the Canadian collaboration which demonstrated that neutrinos from the sun do not disappear on their way to Earth, but change flavor by the time of arrival to the SNO detector.

Takaaki Kajita is a collaborator and the scientist in charge of the Univ. of Tokyo node of the network “Invisibles: Neutrinos, Dark Matter and Dark Energy ” ( ), which has neutrino oscillations as one of its major research lines. This network is coordinated by the team of the Univ. Autónoma de Madrid and includes 29 European and extra-EU nodes, among which is an active group here at IPM, coordinated by Prof. Farzan.

Slides of the talk by Prof Kajita in the last Invisibles meeting in Madrid with title ``Future neutrino oscillation experiments” can be found here:


webmaster |   Copyright © 2012, All rights reserved.